Change Biography

Although the group was led by Paolo Granolio (guitar) and David Romani (bass), this was ostensibly a studio creation by producers Jacques Fred Petrus and Mauro Malavasi, who first linked to form Goody Music in 1975. With material recorded in Bologna (where the producers’ own 24-track studio was based) and New York, The Glow Of Love launched the group on a high note, with success on the UK charts arriving with ‘Searching’ and its Luther Vandross -led vocal. With touring engagements forthcoming, a permanent aggregation of personnel was vaunted, with James Robinson taking over from Vandross on vocals. Following Miracles and Sharing Your Love, he would embark on a solo career, to be replaced at the front of the group by Debra Cooper and Rick Brenna, backed by Timmy Allen (bass), Vince Henry (saxophone) and Michael Campbell (guitar). The emerging production team of Jimmy Jam And Terry Lewis took over for Change Of Heart, which brought two further UK hits (the title track and ‘You Are My Melody’). That success proved difficult to emulate on later recordings, although Turn On The Radio did give rise to three minor UK hits (‘Let’s Go Together’, ‘Oh What A Feeling’ and ‘Mutual Attraction’).

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results