Angels & Airwaves Biography

This alt rock ‘supergroup’ were formed in the summer of 2005 by Blink-182’s Tom DeLonge (Thomas Matthew DeLonge, 13 December 1975, USA). With Blink-182 taking an extended break from any musical activity, DeLonge was quick to put his new musical project in place, recruiting David Kennedy (guitar; ex-Box Car Racer), Ryan Sinn (b. 23 April 1979, USA; bass, ex-Distillers) and Offspring member Atom Willard (b. Adam Willard, 15 August 1973, USA; drums). The quartet made its chart debut the following May with ‘The Adventure’ and We Don’t Need To Whisper. The album proved to be something of a curiosity, eschewing the frat punk of his former band in favour of a rather dated college rock style firmly rooted in the late 80s. The enduring interest in anything Blink-182 related helped propel the album into the US Top 5 on release, despite a number of less than praiseworthy reviews in the music press, apart from the UK’s partisan Kerrang! Sinn left the band in the spring of 2007 and was replaced by Matt Wachter (b. Matthew Walter Wachter, 5 January 1976, Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA; ex-30 Seconds To Mars).

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results