36 Crazyfists Biography

Taking their name from the Jackie Chan movie The 36 Crazy Fists this melodic US metal band formed in 1994 in Anchorage, Alaska. The original line-up comprised Brock Lindow (vocals), Ryan Brownell (guitar), JD Stuart (bass), and Thomas Noonan (drums). In 1995 the band independently released the nu metal-inclined EP Boss Buckle. The following July, Stuart was tragically killed in a car accident and was replaced by Mick Whitney. Also in that year Steve Holt replaced Brownell. After independently releasing further EPs and an album, the band relocated to Portland, Oregon in an attempt to help stabilize their career and played support to a number of high profile bands including System Of A Down and Blink-182. In 2000, they signed to Roadrunner Records and after extensive touring released their acclaimed debut album Bitterness The Star, featuring an impressive collection of melodic metal songs including the powerful single ‘Slit Wrist Theory’. Lindow’s distinctive ‘shaky’ (but hard) vocals helped give a disturbing edge to the band’s already violent sound.

The 2004 follow-up, A Snow Capped Romance, showed the band’s consistency and ability to write mature and original music, particularly the immense aggression of the single ‘At The End Of August’. Although Roadrunner decided not to release it in the USA, the band’s next album, Rest Inside The Flames, was well received in the UK. The album was later given an American release through DRT Entertainment in late 2005.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results