1910 Fruitgum Co. Biography

The aptly named 1910 FruitGum Co. was at the forefront of a brief wave of bubblegum-pop in the late 60s. Bubblegum was a form that offered solid dance beats, infantile lyrics and very catchy choruses built around instantly hummable melody lines. The Super K production team of Jeff Katz and Jerry Kasenetz were masters of the form and specialized in studio in-house creations. The hits began with the nursery game anthem 'Simon Says' in 1968 and continued with '1, 2, 3 Red Light', 'Goody Goody Gumdrops', 'Indian Giver' and 'Special Delivery'. Contrary to popular myth, the band did play in the studio and tour, with featured musicians originally including Mark Gutkowski (vocals/guitar), Frank Jeckell (10 September 1946, Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA; guitar), Pat Karwan (guitar), Steve Mortkowitz (bass) and Floyd Marcus (drums). Personnel changes saw the introduction of Rusty Oppenheimer (drums), Larry Ripley (bass) and Bruce Shay (percussion). By the end of the decade, bubblegum has passed its sell by date and the unit splintered, with a completely new line-up recording their final album Hard Ride. Frank Jeckell and Floyd Marcus revived the 1910 FruitGum Co. in the new millennium for a series of live dates.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
History of Rock (10-CD Set)
44% OFF